LOS ANGELES CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
In 2012, the Department of Motor Vehicles reported that there were approximately 196 million drivers in the US, and California fell into fourth place nationwide with traffic violations, which were not always arrests.
When a driver receives a moving violation, they must either pay the ticket or appear in court before the assigned date. Violations make it difficult to secure employment or financial loans, and there are consequences when the limits are exceeded.
• 12 points in a 12-month period, the driver’s license is suspended for 30 days.
• 18 points in an 18-month period, the driver’s license is suspended for three months.
• 24 points in a 36-month period, the driver’s license is suspended for one year.
A traffic offense where the driver is immediately arrested is a DUI or driving under the influence. California is extremely serious about DUIs, and these are the penalties with no accidents or injuries.
• A first-time DUI offender - may spend up to 6 months in county jail, pay in fines $4,160 or more, have their driver’s license suspended for six months and be court ordered to a rehabilitation program.
• A driver with a second DUI in10 years - may spend up to one year in county jail, pay fines of $4,160 or over, complete a rehabilitation program and have driver’s license suspended for up to two years.
• A third DUI in 10 years – will spend four months to one year in jail, pay fines of $4,160 and lose their driver’s license for three years.
1010 WIlshire Blvd., Suite 1415
Los Angeles, CA 90017